jump to navigation

January Blues January 21, 2011

Posted by Bev Bunker in Uncategorized.
trackback

Weeping Willow

This has been an interesting month for me. It is the first time I can recall of having enjoyed being snow-bound! What that has done is enable my time in my studio to perhaps be one of the most productive months I’ve ever had with my painting. I’ve completed three paintings this month so far, and the month isn’t over….although a little break….as a ‘reward’ for all my hard work is currently happening. But a small break it will be.

What I discovered I really enjoyed to play with this month is the color ‘blue.’ Why blue? It’s a color I only used in skies and making greens – in the past. That has changed. I have discovered a new line of hand-made oil paints called ‘Michael Harding’. They are wonderful and so saturated with color that only a small amount can go a long way.

In the late summer when I was finishing up my final paintings for my on-coming exhibition of new works is when I discovered this paint. I felt that my work needed more ‘oomph.’ Upon explaining my plight to one of the staff in the art store, I was quickly directed to try this oil paint as a new line just brought in. “Nothing ventured, nothing gained” I thought. After purchasing a couple of tubes of paint, I could hardly wait to get home and try out the new ‘King’s Blue’ and ‘Light Yellow’ colors I was now so preciously holding in my hands.

I wasn’t disappointed when I put the first touches on my canvas. The painting I was working on came alive! I couldn’t believe that only a few touches in a couple of places could do so much and propel my enthusiasm into another level of experimentation. There it is….such a small thing to create such a big bang! So January – you aren’t making me feel like I have the blues….I am loving the blues, and playing and playing and playing with them. Have a great month!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

