jump to navigation

Positive Reinforcement December 3, 2013

Posted by Bev Bunker in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Overlook Point, 12in x 16 in, oil on canvas  I have just finished teaching classes for this season, finished a large painting for a new gallery, and now I’m getting smaller projects finished that have required my attention these last few months.

This is a busy season! Christmas music is on the radio again and I am wondering, where did the time go since last year? It doesn’t seem like I got a lot of painting done in this year, but my work has become more complex. It has required that I slow down and pay more attention to what I’m trying to accomplish with each image. Part of that is clarity of values, something which I tell my students is more important than color.

Values are the ‘make it or break it’ factor in representational painting. If your values are off, the image doesn’t read correctly. Each color in your palette responds to a different value on a black/white value key, and it is very important to understand this and to put it into practice. I spend some time almost every class I teach reviewing this principle and applying it to the color charts the students use. Just placing the colors on the canvas is not enough; it is necessary to understand their strength and weaknesses through visual means. I suggest to my students that they take a black/white photo to have alongside their painting image so that they can relate the color to the b/w key. This helps immensely when needing to adjust contrasts with the color.

So, keep this idea in mind if you are having trouble with getting your color selection to read correctly in your painting. Take a photo in b/w and check if the key of the color is properly relating to the actual color. It will show up in b/w. This is the ‘secret’ to a good painting….positive reinforcement using negative color.
?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Comments»

1. kateyaustinart - December 4, 2013

I really enjoyed looking at this work! Really great colors. Feel free to check out my work at http://www.kateyaustin.com, Cheers!

2. Beverly - December 4, 2013

Thank you Katey! I try to create the excitement I feel when natural light alters my subject, by pushing the colors a bit more to enhance its realism.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,963 other followers

