jump to navigation

Places in the Summer Sun July 15, 2012

Posted by Bev Bunker in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback
Cool Water 1

 My newest show ‘Places in the Summer Sun’ will be featured at the Art Beat Gallery this August. I have painted several locations capturing impressions of the height of the season’s light during summer. These paintings are showing a new turn in my artistic development. I had always been attracted to pattern created by light/dark, cool/warm contrasts. In my years as an artist, I had tried many different ways to capture what I was seeing and in the process had tried to emulate other great painters’ styles. Well, this works to a degree but it just wasn’t satisfactory.

In my journey, what I have learned is that passion, perseverance, and not giving up even when the going is very frustrating is worth the effort to stay the whole way. My work has, I feel, now become my own voice. In other words, I am now singing my own song. I have learned from many great artists and all have contributed to my skills and development. I no longer paint pictures of nice places, etc. I paint from my heart. I let the painting tell me what it needs to say. This is my expression of what I see. I am fully engaged with my creative process utilizing everything I know to this point in my journey, how to get that painting the way it needs to be stated. These new pieces in my show are the result of my  believing in what I know to be true for me.

Comments»

1. victoria tully - September 1, 2012

I find myself constantly going back to “summerSun”. It is such a leap forward if that is at all possible, as I have pretty well being very impressed with your work for years and have followed your progress. But I must say that “master piece” is a work of art, pardon pun.

Bev Bunker - September 4, 2012

Vicki, thanks so much! It is a beautiful piece I admit. I enjoy painting the images I choose. They also move me, otherwise I wouldn’t paint them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,963 other followers

