jump to navigation

Romantic Nostalgia on a Winter Theme December 9, 2011

Posted by Bev Bunker in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I was given a recent request by one of the galleries that carry my work to do something with a winter/christmas theme. What to do? I had many ideas and many photographic resources to choose from. I wanted to try to do something with a challenge.  My work this past year seems to have been charged with back lighting, a difficult thing to paint. I decided to continue to pursue this direction as I still had a couple of paintings in my mind I wanted to accomplish. “Winter’s Glow” is my newest addition, 20 in x 24 in., oil on canvas. It is a romantic interlude, a dreamy nostalgic reminiscence. I hope you like it as much as I do.

Winter's Glow

Comments»

1. Jane Willson - December 10, 2011

Lovely. Would like to see the originals, photos never do a painting justice!

Bev Bunker - December 10, 2011

Thank you Jane! The painting is now hanging in Art Beat Gallery in St. Albert, Alta. It is much more defined in real life.

2. Jane Willson - December 10, 2011

If you’re ever showing at the Leighton Centre or close to High River, let me know. I would enjoy seeing your original artwork. Texture never comes through in photos and it adds so much to paintings, especially oils. Thank you for joining my blog.

Bev Bunker - December 10, 2011

I will let you know re: Leighton. Some texture is important to me as I usually use both palette knife and brush on my work. It usually depends on my subject and the size of the canvas. If I use a small canvas under 10in x 12in, I won’t. Anything larger does. I am currently doing around 20in x 24in canvas as this is a comfortable size. ‘Winter’s Glow’ had palette knife work all on the stonework.

3. Sharon McCameron Whyte, MFA - December 13, 2011

Thanks for following my blog, Bev. I love your work…so expressive.

Bev Bunker - December 14, 2011

Thank you very much! I’m still working on it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,964 other followers

